Felicity in Williamsburg

Good day ladies and gentlemen!

I had the good fortune of traveling to Williamsburg, Virginia where I used to live! I had such a lovely time there and I wanted to tell you about my adventures. I had to travel as a modern girl at first, because we traveled in a modern carriage.  Here is a picture of me in the car:

photo

The first place I visited when I arrived in Williamsburg was the Bruton Parish Church.

IMG_1959[1]

I wanted to thank God for my safe journey and the blessing of getting to spend time in my old home and looking back on fond memories. There weren’t very many people there so I got to sit in Thomas Jefferson’s pew!

IMG_1963[1]

IMG_1962[1]

While sitting there, I realized I needed to stop at my old house to freshen up and get ready for the dance lesson at the Governor’s Palace! Whenever I see my house I feel like smiling because it feels so cheery with the green shutters.

IMG_1983[1]IMG_1985[1]

Everyone had to work so hard in Colonial times, whether you were a soldier, an apprentice, or a housewife.  Children also had to work to help their families.  I would spend a lot of dull time in the kitchen churning butter.

IMG_1964[1]

I would get so sweaty and itchy as I worked.  To pass the time away I would dream of riding my horse, Penny. I was getting hot just thinking about it and I started taking my hat off when my picture was taken.

IMG_1965[1]

After working I would feel so exhausted I would crawl into my bed and take a nap.  Colonial people slept on different types of mattresses.  Some were stuffed with straw, wool, or horsehair.

IMG_1966[1]

When I woke up, it would be time for lessons with Miss Manderly.  She taught me the refined way of dancing, handwriting, stitchery, and the proper way to serve tea.  All of these things would help me become gentle lady.  Tea was my favorite lesson.  I would sit at the tea table and serve everyone.

IMG_2001[1]

But when my father stopped selling tea at the store because of the British tax , our family stopped drinking it too, and at first I didn’t know what to do when I was at lessons.  I loved drinking tea and since my best friend, Elizabeth was serving I didn’t want to offend her by refusing the tea.

IMG_2000[1]

Then I remembered what Miss Manderly had instructed us.  I carefully turned my teacup upside down and put my spoon across it.  When Elizabeth came by I said, “Thank you, Elizabeth, but I shall take no tea.”

IMG_2002[1]

Finally tea lessons were over and I had to get ready for the carriage ride to the Governor’s Palace! A horse and carriage was waiting for me right outside my house!  I love horses so much I had to go over and greet her.

IMG_1992[1]

She reminded me so much of my Penny that I quickly changed into some riding clothes and climbed on her back!

IMG_1998[1]

Aren’t real horses just absolutely gigantic!?

IMG_1997[1]

Of course, it is not at all proper to ride a horse bareback when a lady is going to the Governor’s Palace! She must ride in a carriage.  So I climbed into the bumpy, stuffy carriage.

IMG_1993[1]

This one had an open top, so I could feel every rut and bump on the road,but it wasn’t stuffy and hard to breathe.

IMG_1994[1]

I jumped onto the seat and got ready for the long ride.

IMG_1995[1]

Finally I arrived at the Governor’s Palace! I changed into my beautiful blue ball gown that was so lovingly made for me.

IMG_1968[1]

Before the dance lesson, I was able to tour the palace gardens.

IMG_1971[1]

Then, I danced for hours and hours! I was so busy dancing I forgot to have my picture taken! This is the only one of me in the blue ballroom and it is not very good because it was so dark.

IMG_1987[1]

On my way home from the dance lesson, I stopped at my father’s store.

IMG_2006[1]

I loved smelling all the spices in the store, seeing all the people, not to mention listening to the gossip, and sometimes even helping out.

IMG_1982[1]

I would sometimes hide among the bolts of cloth and listen to what the customers were discussing!

IMG_1979[1]

I had visited and seen a lot at Williamsburg and it was starting to get dark. I was very much hoping to get a full night’s rest in my bed. Unlike the time I had to stay up all night because I had overheard that Lord Dunmore was going to steal the gunpowder from the magazine!

IMG_1974[1]

I crept up to the magazine with Ben and Isaac.

IMG_2014[1]

We waited for hours and then we heard some noises around two in the morning.  I stood up on Ben and Isaac’s shoulders and sure enough, the gunpowder was being loaded onto carts!IMG_1976[1]

Isaac raised the alarm and the colonists came and found out what was going on. I was so thankful for what we had done that night! I had a hand in helping to fight for the revolution!

Well, I think this night there won’t be any revolution going on and I am so tired from visiting so many places I can’t wait to jump in bed. I hope you enjoyed reading about my travels.  When I returned to my home I live in today, Addy and Kirsten were so excited to hear about my travels they decided to have a Colonial dinner in my honor! I helped them make the food!

IMG_2020[1]

Addy baked scrumptious cakes (today they are called cookies).

IMG_2021[1]

I made a salad while Kirsten made bread.

IMG_2019[1]

It was so much fun to visit Williamsburg and I hope to go back again sometime!

Thank you for reading!

Sincerely,

Felicity Merriman

Stories were taken from the American Girl Felicity Collection by Valerie Tripp.

I want to thank my aunt, who helped me take all of these pictures.  She went above and beyond her duty by getting dirty from the carriage and being stung by a bee!

P. S.  Jacky will be back with more camp doll diaries next week!

Felicity Outtakes:

My stays are too tight, and I’m itching to run. But my skirts are too heavy and my sampler’s not done! (American Girls Musical, Circle of Friends, by Nancy Ford)

IMG_2008[1]

I met a doll-friend! Meet Charlotte Dunmore who lives in the Governor’s palace.

IMG_1969[1]

Instead of tea, we drank hot chocolate.

IMG_1955[1]

The Tour of Felicity in Williamsburg:

image 1

image 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Doll's travel stories, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Felicity in Williamsburg

  1. jackylina says:

    Heather, I finally figured out what to click on! You did do a great job with the story!

  2. AliCarmen says:

    Oh my gosh, this was soooo cute and charming! You really made me feel like I was there! I’ll have to take that tour sometime with my Felicity doll (she’s named Fanny). It’s sounds like so much fun!

Leave a Reply

