Camp Doll Diaries Day 3: Talent Show

Hello! Jacky here!

Today is the third day of camp and Allison and I had just finished breakfast.  We were heading to the white board to check our schedules when we bumped into our two camp counselors, Ana and Ashleigh.

IMG_1820[1]

“Why are you two all dressed up?” asked Allison.

“Go look at the board,” said Ana, “There’s going to be a talent show this evening and Ashleigh and I are going to perform!”

“Oh cool!” Allison cried, “I want to perform too! Let’s sign up Jacky.”

So far at camp, I had felt so happy to be here and to share adventures with my wonderful friend, Allison.  But now, that happiness vanished.

“I don’t think I want to sign up, Allison, but you can go ahead.”

“What! What do mean?”

“Well, I don’t have a talent.  I don’t like to sing in public, I don’t play an instrument, and I don’t do anything artsy very well.”

“Hmm,” murmured Allison, “Have you ever been in a play? Have you ever acted?”

“No, I can’t say I have.”

“Well then, that’s just what we’ll do!”

“What kind of play?” I asked.

“Look here on this bookshelf. Here’s a big book of plays having to do with fairy tales.  Why don’t we do Sleeping Beauty?  That movie, Maleficent has just come out, so it would be great to do a play on it!”

“Okay!” I said, “I’ll sign us up. Why don’t you be Aurora, since you’re experienced with acting.”

IMG_1821[1]

“Alright.  That means we need three fairies.  Do you want to be a fairy Jacky?”

“Sure!”

Allison looked around the room and spotted another girl.

IMG_1822[1]

“You’re Laurel, right? Do you want to be a fairy?”

“That sounds like fun!” she said.

Allison and I went off searching and found not one, but two more fairies.  When I asked a girl named Sara if she’d like to be a fairy, another girl named Kat couldn’t help overhearing us and wanted to be in it too.  Since none of us were doing anything we started rehearsing right away.  It took a lot of work but Allison was a good director.  We ran it through a couple more times and then waited for the talent show to start.

I wish you readers could have been there and seen the show! It had so much variety and every act was magnificent!  Since you didn’t see the show, I was able to take pictures of most of it:

We were one of the last ones to perform so we sat and listened to the girls before us.  First, our counselors sang a beautiful song together with their friend, Isabella.

IMG_1836[1]

Their little trio expanded with every song.

IMG_1837[1]

Their last piece even had a string trio to accompany them!

recital

Their music was so beautiful!

The next act was a total change of scenery and atmosphere! I felt like I was sent to Harlem as Keisha, dressed as a flapper, performed a spectacular dance!

IMG_1819[1]

The last act we got to see added even more variety to the talent show, as the AG Jam Band performed a grooving rock song.

agjam

Finally, it was our turn!

I took my place around the crib of baby Aurora.  The curtain rose, the music played, and we fairies danced around the crib and gave our special blessing to baby Aurora.

sleepingbeauty1

IMG_1825[1]

Aurora looked so sweet and peaceful while we dance around her.

IMG_1824[1]

I couldn’t take a picture of Maleficent because I had to go offstage and hide.  The next picture shows Aurora grown up and pricking her finger on the spinning wheel.

sleepingbeauty

She fell into a deep sleep for a hundred years and we fairies danced around her and protected her until her prince came and woke her up.

IMG_1834[1]

When our performance was over everyone in the audience gave us a standing ovation!  Allison put her arm around me.

“See, you have a wonderful talent! You can not only act, but dance too!”

“I had so much fun doing it too!” I exclaimed,  “and you were the one who discovered my talent!”

I was proud of what I had done.  Perhaps one day, I might become a famous actress and if it weren’t for Allison my dream may never have come true!

-Jacky

 

 

 

 

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Camp Doll Diaries 2014, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

