Day 2 continued:

Hi guys!

After breakfast Allison and I decided to go white water rafting.  When we got to the dock, Chloe, another counselor, met with us and explained how to ride safely.

“I am going to jog ahead of you on a path until I get to the part of the river that’s really choppy.  I’ll stay there to make sure you guys get safely through that part of the river,” said Chloe.

IMG_1787[1]

So Allison and I got into the raft and headed down the river.

IMG_1788[1]

At first it was kind of slow going and I was getting really hot.

“I think I’m going to take off my life jacket. I’m so hot,” I said.

“What are you thinking!?” cried Allison, “you can’t take that off!  I’m sure that’s against the rules!”

“I know,” I replied, “but I know how to swim, and anyway, Chloe never actually said we had to keep the life jackets on the whole time.  I’ll put it back on when the water starts to get rough.”

“Okay..” said Allison reluctantly.

We paddled on down the river and just as we rounded a bend we saw a beautiful sight.

“Look at the view!” said Allison.

IMG_1790[1]

“It’s so beautiful!” I said.  “The evergreens are so tall!  They must be really old! Look! I see someone waving on that cabin por-AaaaGH!”

I didn’t get to finish my sentence because our raft gave a sudden lurch.  We tipped way up and then came crashing down while at the same time the raft flipped over spilling us out!  My mouth filled with water.

IMG_1791[1]

The water pummeled and churned around me so much that I had no way of knowing what direction was up or down.  I could feel my body start to panic.  I hadn’t gotten to take a breath before I went underwater and now I was seriously running out of air.  My lungs were screaming at me to just take a breath but my brain knew that was impossible.

IMG_1792[1]

The pressure in my lungs was really painful and I knew I was going to black out soon.  Just then, my nose brushed against something rough.  I opened my eyes and saw something yellow.

IMG_1795[1]

I grabbed hold of it.

IMG_1794[1]

I knew it was Chloe coming to rescue me!

IMG_1793[1]

Chloe pulled me out of the water.

“Where is your life jacket?” she asked.

“Umm,” I mumbled feeling horribly guilty,  “It’s probably washed way down the river because I got hot and took it off.”

“Jacky, I sincerely hope you have learned your lesson.  You should NEVER take your life jacket off when you’re on a boat no matter what the circumstances are.  Do you understand?”

“Yes,” I said, “Is Allison all right?”

IMG_1796[1]

“She’s fine. Since she wore her life jacket she bobbed to the surface and was able to climb back onto the raft even though it’s upside down.”

IMG_1797[1]

When we spotted Allison and the raft we ran down and helped her to the shore.

IMG_1798[1]

“Thank you! That was sure a real adventure.  I’m glad to see you’re okay Jacky.”

“Yeah,” I said, “Thanks to Chloe who literally saved my life!”

“Okay girls,” said Chloe, “why don’t you get dried off and come join us for a sing along by the campfire.”

Allison and I ran back to our tent and cleaned ourselves up. By then it was starting to get dark.  We could see the flicker of a campfire and we hurried towards it.  A whole group of girls were surrounding it.

IMG_1805[1]

The counselors were handing out sticks to roast marshmallows.

IMG_1806[1]

Rowena and Keisha had brought a camp songbook and started to sing the girl scout camp song:

Make new friends, but keep the old, one is silver and the other gold! A circle is round, it has no end that’s how long I’m gonna be your friend!

IMG_1807[1]

Each girl looked through the book and picked their favorite song that we all sang.

IMG_1808[1]

It was so much fun to sing and eat s’mores and marshmallows.

IMG_1809[2]

We stayed there for a long time singing and talking until the fire died into glowing embers.

IMG_1810[1]

It was the perfect way to end the day!

Signing off!

-Jacky

 

 

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

