Day 2 of Camp Doll Diaries: Morning Breakfast

“Jacky…..Jacky…. wake up!

Viva Jackylina!!  Wake up!”

IMG_1746[1]

 

“Ooooh! I think I’ll just stay here and sleep some more,” I moan.

“You can’t.”

“Why not?”

“Because I kind of signed us up to cook breakfast and forgot to tell you, and if you don’t wake up, we’re going to be really late.”

“What!?”

IMG_1747[1]

I wanted to take a shower!” I said.  I couldn’t believe Allison hadn’t told me she signed us up.

“You can’t.  Just throw on some clothes, you can shower later.  Come on! We have to hurry!”

I threw on whatever was on the top of my suitcase and followed Allison out of the tent.  We ran through the field and past the swimming pool.  I smiled because the counselors had already lined the pool deck with our footprint slabs we made last night.

IMG_1763[1]

When we got to the kitchen a not had been written on the table for us:

  • set out fruit tray
  • cook pancakes and eggs
  • set out muffins
  • bake bread
  • set out cereal
  • have plates and cups ready

“Why don’t you be in charge of the stove and cook the pancakes and eggs.  I’ll bake the bread and set up the other breakfast trays.  That way we won’t be in each others way,” Allison said.

I thought that was a good plan and got to work.

IMG_1762[1]

At first everything seemed to be going well.  I had never cooked pancakes before but after reading the directions it didn’t seem that hard.  But then, Allison started to panic because we didn’t have much time left.

“Oh great,” she said, “we only have 15 more minutes and I still need to get the muffins.  Ah! I forgot the oranges on the fruit tray!”

I tried to help her find the oranges and the tray for the muffins.

“Something’s burning Jacky! Quick! check the oven!”

I ran to the oven too late (the pancakes were burned) and too fast: SPLAT!! The burned pancakes, the oily pan and spatula fell to the floor.

IMG_1765[1]

I snapped.

“Now look what happened!  This is all your fault, Allison! If you had told me yesterday that you had signed us up to cook, we wouldn’t have been late and I wouldn’t have had to hurry so much.  Now you made me drop the pancakes and it’s going to take the 15 minutes we have to clean up this mess.  I’ve had it!  You were the one who got us into this mess, well, you can clean it up too! Good bye!”

I stormed out of the kitchen fuming and left Allison with her rolling pin and bread dough just staring at me.

IMG_1761[1]

I didn’t go very far.  I just sat down on a chair outside the cafeteria.  I felt a little bad that I had yelled at Allison like that.  But if she had told me, I would have set my alarm to wake up earlier to get the food ready on time.  After about 10 minutes I heard footsteps.

“Um, Jacky, I’m really sorry I didn’t tell you I’d signed us up last night.  I truly forgot about it.  I signed us up when you were spying on the cabin girls and when you got back, it was time to go to the meeting, and then it totally slipped my mind until this morning.  I cleaned up your pancake mess.”

IMG_1766[1]

“It’s okay, Allison,  I’m sorry I yelled at you.  And thanks for cleaning up the mess.  It wasn’t your fault that I dropped the pancakes.”

“You want to come back to the kitchen and help to serve? Some of the girls are already here to eat and I could use your help,” said Allison.

“Of course!”

I went back to the kitchen and helped Allison put everything out on a buffet table.  Allison had arranged everything really nicely and the food looked really good.

IMG_1770[1]

Just then two girls walked up to the table.

IMG_1767[1]

“Hi, I’m Nellie.  Keisha and I signed up to clean up after breakfast.  The food looks really good.  You did a great job.”

More and more girls started coming in for food.

IMG_1768[1]

I recognized some of them from last night but a number of them I hadn’t seen before.

IMG_1773[1]

IMG_1775[1]

IMG_1771[1]

It was fun to serve the food and talk to each girl a little as they  loaded their plates.

IMG_1769[1]

After all the girls had eaten, Allison and I finally got to eat ourselves.  I was really glad I hadn’t stayed angry at Allison for long.  She is such a fun friend!

Speaking of friends, I’m going to go white water rafting with her so I’ll post some more later! Bye for now!

Jacky

 

 

 

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Camp Doll Diaries 2014, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 2 of Camp Doll Diaries: Morning Breakfast

  1. I love your Magic Attic Club dolls! 🙂

Leave a Reply

