Restoring a doll

Hi! It’s Heather.

A couple days ago I was at a thrift store and wandered into the toy section. I saw a sad looking doll wearing an American Girl nightgown. I thought I’d just buy the doll to get the nightgown but as I looked closer at the doll and saw she was a Gotz.  Gotz dolls are German dolls of very good quality.  In fact the American Girls face molds and bodies came from Gotz.  This doll’s body had marks and stains on it and her hair was a mess and her bangs had been sloppily cut.  It looked like her hair might have been curly once.

IMG_1530[1]

I’ve been a big fan of the dolldiaries blog and every Thursday Diana Gash posts something about how to restore a doll. The most recent post was how to restore curly hair on a doll.  I got inspired by that so I thought I would take Diana’s advice and try to restore this doll’s hair.

I used water and a brush to comb out all the tangles.

IMG_1529[1]

Then I put her hair up in curlers.

IMG_1533[1]

After waiting 24 hours here’s how it turned out:

IMG_1532[1]

Not bad, right?  In fact, someone at a craft fair ended up buying the doll from me! She planned to knit doll clothes for 18″ dolls (previously she had only knit clothes for Barbies) and wanted to use this doll as a model.

So thank you to Dolldiaries and Diana Gash for getting me inspired to restore a doll!

Heather

 

 

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

